Masters Win District Chapter of the Year Award

Kirt Thiesmeyer, Mar 31, 2010

At the Far Western District Spring Convention House of Delegates meeting two weekends ago in Reno, Nevada, FWD Immediate Past President Bob Lally presented the district’s Chapter of the Year award for 2009 to the Santa Fe Springs Chapter and our chorus, the Masters of Harmony. Among the chapter’s achievements as detailed by Bob in his citation were: Our performance at the Midwinter Convention in Pasadena, our 9th Annual Young Men’s Harmony Festival, the nearly sold-out spring, Banning and Christmas shows, and our hosting the Barbershop Harmony Society’s International Convention in Anaheim last July. Bob mentioned the wonderful quartets that spring from the Masters and our continuing leadership on the District Board of Directors and Management Team.

Dare we mention with pride Bob himself, an MOH emeritus; Bernard Priceman, current district president; Gene Clements and Bill Rosica, division vice presidents; Doug Maddox, production director and recent inductee into the FWD Hall of Fame; Jim Holder, sunshine officer; Dave Tautkus, chairman of chorus director development; emeritus John Krizek, Youth in Harmony chair; Rob Campbell, emcee chairman; emeriti Chuck Leavitt, Dave Briner and Paul Sandorff; and former member Don Shively, historian; along with our fair share of chapter service representatives (formerly chapter counselors), 50-year members, certified judges and judges-in-training. Hmmmm, I seem to have left someone out. Oh, yeah, quartet champion, three-time chorus gold medalist and 10-year director of the Masters, Mark Hale. We scored one more success, having the highest donations per man to the Harmony Foundation.

Last Wednesday night, Divisional VP (and 2010 MOH president) Rosica presented the COTY award to 2009 President Kirt Thiesmeyer, consisting of a brilliant lucite figure with the citation engraved for our trophy collection, plus a name plate on the permanent COTY plaque. Kirt accepted on behalf of the chapter, noting that there are five present and former MOH presidents now on the risers, representing the enormous efforts by all of the Masters in producing, in Bob Lally’s words, “what all chapters aspire to be and . . . an inspiration to all of us.” Wear your name badges with pride!

Return to the News Page